Skip to main content
Topic: How to input Semiquaver ? (Read 5029 times) previous topic - next topic

How to input Semiquaver ?

Hi,
I'm new with this stuff. Please help me. I would like to input the Semiquaver but how. Thank you very much.

Re: How to input Semiquaver ?

Reply #1
Hi - welcome

The semiquaver (English nomenclature) is the same as the note that's called a 16th in most of the world and in NoteWorthy.

In the notes displayed in NoteWorthy, click on the semiquaver (the one with two tails).  If you hover over it, you should see "sixteenth".
Also make sure that the red notehead is selected (not the cross or the diamond etc)

Now, position the cursor where you want the note and press the enter key - you will now have entered a semiquaver.

Further example, on the treble clef, if you position the cursor on the middle line and press enter, you will have a semiquaver of pitch value "b" (as long as you have not keys that change the pitch or other accidentals active).

Also - please note that if you use the NWC Help / search and search for "NWC duration names equivalency chart", you will be given all of the name conversions for the English note equivalents.

Hope this helps.
Rich.

Reply #2
Thank you Richard Woodroffe for the best Hint ever.

Reply #3
I did as you told about How to search more "NWC duration names equivalency chart" but it did not give me the  search for "Long = 4 measure ) and the "Breve = Double"

Please help. Thanks

Reply #4
I did as you told about How to search more "NWC duration names equivalency chart" but it did not give me the  search for "Long = 4 measure ) and the "Breve = Double"

Probably because NWC does not use them (there's not much that does these days).

For a breve, use two tied whole notes. For a long, use 4.
There are also ways of faking the visual aspect of this if really necessary - but that can get quite tricky - so for the moment, just use tied whole notes.

Rich.

Reply #5
Thank you Richard. I think so. Will do that.