Skip to main content
Topic: Making an Audio CD of NWC Music Files (Read 26718 times) previous topic - next topic

Making an Audio CD of NWC Music Files

I am not new to composing, but I am new to creating music using NWC and working with MIDI files. So for all you techno expert/composers, what hardware/software would I need to record/convert my NWC or MIDI files directly to a compact disk so that my music can be heard through a home stereo system with CD player? I have a MIDI keyboard/controller. But would this require some kind of digital to analog process, like putting a mike up to my PC speakers as my PC plays the music back, or is there a purely digital way to do this?

Re: Making an Audio CD of NWC Music Files

Reply #1
Not sure why you would want to put your files onto CD if all you want to do is to play back through your home stereo system.

What about a lead from the sound card to the aux socket ?
Richard

Reply #2
This topic has been covered quite extensively on this forum in the past, I'd suggest downloading the "offline" version of the Forum, then use the Search facility to find the applicable threads (there have been several). Briefly, yes it's quite possible to do; involves recording the .nwc or .mid as a wave file, then burning to CD.

Reply #3
Since I have actually done this, and made an audio CD from my NWC files, a few pointers...
Any decent soundcard will let you record MIDI through the soundcard.. (no dumb mic needed) First I'll assume that you are recording MIDI directly off your MIDI soundcard. You can set the recording volume via the microsoft mixer (play control--the little speaker icon in the taskbar, double click it). In there, you can select "options", then under "properties", select "recording options". This will let you select MIDI to be recorded and also the volume.