Skip to main content
Topic: MP3 to MIDI (Read 29922 times) previous topic - next topic

MP3 to MIDI

Is there anyway to change an MP3 to a MIDI file?? PLEASE tell me if there is.

Thanks,
/Matt

Re: MP3 to MIDI

Reply #1
The short answer -- no. The long answer -- there are programs that purport to convert wav files into midi, but the results are, to say the least, unpredictable. (If you want to experiment with this, you'll have to first convert the mp3 back to wav format using an mp3 decoder, or more simply by recording it as a wave whilst playing it on your mp3 player.)

This question seems to come up quite regularly (see earlier threads), and my answer now as always is to use this as a challenge to work on your ear training and transcribing abilities! Have fun.

Reply #2
This question recently came up on another NG I frequent, this is one of the answers. I have no experience with this product whatsoever.

"The program is called "WAV2MID" and it costs about £49.95 (Sterling) - so about $70 and you can get it from:

http://www.audioworks.com
"

If anyone wants to give this a go, please post and tell us how well it worked for you.

HTH,

Sue

Reply #4
I have tried WAVE2MID and it is sort of OK with simple tunes on single clear instruments (I tried it on the descant recorder and with whisteling) but it is hopeless on anything else. I think that it is expecting too much for a programme of this type to recognise multi instruments.

Reply #5
Is there any way to convert MIDIs into MP3s

Reply #7
Is there any way to Convert Mp3 to Mod,XM, or S3M??
Please Reply Thanx

Reply #8
digital ear

Reply #9
Ah - Computer Wizard - I have been searching for so long for a simple solution to this problem.
I have a short section of mp3 (150Kb) I would like to convert to a midi file.
Would you be willing to convert it for me.
I will post the resulting midi file in the NWC newsgroup so others users can evaluate the effectiveness of your simple method.