Skip to main content
Topic: *feels stupid* (Read 5329 times) previous topic - next topic

*feels stupid*

I'm pretty new to NWC, and I feel really stupid asking this question, but I couldn't find the answer, cuz I don't know what these freaking notes are called. How do you make those chords with like, the squiggly lines on them that make you play each note seperately really fast to make the chord... I just don't know their name >_<. So how do you make them on NWC? I'm not a very quick learner... where can I find like a totally user friendly guide for NWC explaining the basics, and maybe a little into the advanced stuff? Send me an e-mail at ghost_stalker989@yahoo.com, or catch me on AIM at K9 Krunchees if you have any useful information.

Re: *feels stupid*

Reply #1
That chord is called an arpeggio (meaning in the manner of the harp, AFAIK). There is no way to accomplish this directly in NWC, so welcome to the wonderful world of NWC workarounds!

You'll probably find discussion over this topic in this forum, now that you know what to look for. But I can explain it to you, because I haven't got anything else to do at the time :)

Making an arpeggio requires the omnipotent hidden staff technique (another powerful technique is layering). In it you use a hidden staff that plays the music and a visible staff that has the notes but is muted.

On the hidden staff, you'll need to simulate the arpeggio and have all the rest of the music too. Then on the so-called view staff, you'll have the same music, without the ugly simulation.

Then, you'll need to add an arpeggio symbol. That requires the use of musical symbol fonts. You can find these in the NWC Scriptorium, in the Useful Files section. I recommend downloading and installing all the fonts there, if you ever plan on viewing other peoples NWC creations.