Skip to main content
Topic: natural-sharp and natural-flat (Read 4467 times) previous topic - next topic

natural-sharp and natural-flat

when I typeset a piece that has double-sharps/flats, and the next note need a natural, only a normal natural is displayed, not a natural-sharp or natural-flat

Re: natural-sharp and natural-flat

Reply #1
Hm, at least I've been taught that when you restore a double-sharp or double-flat to sharp or flat, it is indicated by a sharp or flat sign, not with natural-sharp or natural-flat. In fact I've never even heard of such signs!

Reply #2
I've been playing instrumental music for 40+ years, and have encountered double sharps and double flats so infrequently that I don't recall ever seeing the need to revert to a normal sharp or flat within the same measure.

What I'm driving at, if it's so complicated, why don't you just use the enharmonic?  It may not be theoretically correct, but the musician reading the part will understand it better.

Reply #3
I'm currently working on Guys and Dolls, which has a piece in Gb major (22 Adelaide's Second Lament).  At one point, the chords are Cb6 then Cbm7, then Gb, each in a bar (measure) of its own.  The Cbm7 chord has printed Ebb and Bbb, as you would expect.

The next chord (the Gb) needs only Bb rather than Bbb, so as a courtesy (as it's in the next bar/measure) the correct accidental is printed.  But it's printed in the old natural-flat notation, which is very confusing to read at sight.

The current and more readable practice is to simply use just a single flat.

The alternative, writing out the piece in F# major, would also be a problem as chords Gb Bb7 Ebm Abm7b5 would become the equally unwieldy F# A#7 D#m G#m7b5.

Reply #4
I think we're in basic agreement. I'm not suggesting writing out the entire piece in F#, but consider changing the occasional troublesome chord.  (Bear with me if my chords aren't spelled correctly here - I don't know my chords very well.)