Skip to main content
Topic: ----Sound Fonts?---- (Read 15375 times) previous topic - next topic

----Sound Fonts?----

I found this program (nwc) about 3 years ago and i find it very useful and simple to use, it's just that there's not enough good instruments. I didn't even bother to look for new instruments thinking that there would not be any. But today I found this thing called "sound fonts" i immediately thought 'awesome!' and downloaded a brass instrument to try out...

uh... All i see is this file with 'sf2' extention

I found some Messages on sound fonts but they all lead to AWE64 and other stuff that are gibberish to me...

I'm not a professional musician(not even close). I'm just a middle-schooler doing this as a habit, so please... no fancy music-related words.

Re: ----Sound Fonts?----

Reply #1
sf2 files are soundfont files and need to be loaded into a soundfont compatible soundcard. If you have a Creative Live! or Audigy, got to control panel and find Audio HQ. Double click on that and select soundfont. You can then either load the new sf2 file by itself - replacing whatever is there, or load the new file into another bank, or go to configure instrument and find the instrument you want to replace and load an individual instrumnet from the sf2 file you want.
If you have any other soundcard, I cannot help.

Tina

Reply #2
I run Soundblaster Live! and I didn't realize I could load individual instruments.  Thank you for that, Tina.

I'd love to hear suggestions of where to find the best soundfonts for the following instruments -

alto sax - playing mellow, playing raunchy
tenor sax - ditto
bari sax - ditto
clarinet - ditto (symphonic sound versus New Orleans style)
bass clarinet
muted trumpet
muted trombone

Reply #3
Some sf2 sound fonts can also be used in software such as Timidity. I don't know the details... it's over my head. But I'm told that the software can read the sf2 even if your sound card won't load sf2.

Reply #5