Skip to main content
Topic: Copyrights (Read 3042 times) previous topic - next topic

Copyrights

If you import/write to NoteWorthy that is someone elses's
composition, how do you get permission to transcibe it to
electronic format?
And how ammenable are people to do this?

Re: Copyrights

Reply #1
This is an important point. A few things as I see them.

1) Their is provision in most nation's copyright laws for fair usage for research or review, or for personal use. This is applicable for some NWC users.

2) Works by a composer dead 50 years (in Australia, 75 in the USA) are in the public domain. Transcribing a piece from printed music may still breach copyright, as you are "copying" the publisher's impression. If you are rearranging it, things get much greyer. Though technically it is still a copyright breach, it would be very hard for a case to be made in court, I would imagine. (I AM NOT A LAWYER).

3) Works by living composers, or those dead within 50/75 years need the permission of the copyright owner (either the composer or the publisher). Many web-based composers are happy for you to use their works, and may freely give permission. Most music companies will screw you for every penny they can get. Nothing personal, it's just their policy.