Skip to main content
Topic: A question from a marcher... (Read 7661 times) previous topic - next topic

A question from a marcher...

I'm a little new at this and the answer is probably staring me in the face and laughing.  I'm more into the marching side of high school band.  I wrote a drum feature, and it's cool and all, but it's just not the same without the marching drums.  Is there any way to get the sound of marching snares with kevlar heads, marching basses and a set of quints?

Re: A question from a marcher...

Reply #1
I would guess that 99.9% of the musicians here don't know what you mean. But whatever it is: The sound produced is determined by your sound card (or software synth, as the case may be), not by the music program (NWC) that creates the notes. If someone has digitized the sounds you require, then it is a matter of finding them.

Snare drums are particularly hard to handle in programs that use a sound card (with or without the intermediary of MIDI). That includes just about every music notation program. The reason is that each tap on the drum terminates the previous tap, which is unlike the real world. So drumming has a more mechanical sound than in the real world. There are ways around that, but it requires expertise with external audio editing.

Reply #2
You may want to try using Taiko Drum (not on channel 10) for the marching basses, and Melodic Tom (also not on channel 10) for the quints, and Synth Drum (also not on channel 10) for the snares, although these last ones don't sound at all like kevlar on my soundcard...

...guess I'm in the .1%...

Reply #3
I'd look for a soundfont that gives you the sound you want there are a bunch and then use that in place of the aforementioned taiko, melodic toms etc..
of course then you're creating a .wav file which you will have to mix with the rest of your score as oh... this may be more trouble than you want to go through.
j

Reply #4