Skip to main content
Topic: Play Wont Play (Read 7451 times) previous topic - next topic

Play Wont Play

I have been using Noteworthy for a couple of weeks. Suddenly, today, the "play" function has stopped and I can't hear sounds for any composition. My speakers are working and I can hear sounds when I use other programs, but not Noteworthy. I've re-installed the program, but the problem persists.

Any help will be appreciated.

--Walter Rimler

Re: Play Wont Play

Reply #1
A few questions (for more information).
Does your computer play other midi files okay (like with - say - mplayer.exe)?
Does NWC export midi files that are then playable by Mplayer?
Have you adjusted your midi devices recently? (Mplayer always plays to the Midi Mapper device. NWC can choose other midi devices as well)

Andrew

Reply #2
Andrew--

Thanks for your reply. I'm no computer expert (obviously), so, here's the best I can do in answering your questions.

My computer does not play other midi files when I use mplayer.exe.

I don't have any idea if NWC exports midi files that are playable by mplayer.

I don't think I have adjusted any midi divices recently. If I did, it was inadvertent. I have been trying tro find midi mapper to choose it for mplayer but don't know how.

--Walt

Reply #3
Andrew--

Hello again. I got the sound working by turning the volume up mplayer. I have no idea how it got turned down, but thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

By the way, one other problem I've been having is that when I click on the help file nothing is there. I know I have a help file because I see it listed as one of the Noteworthy files. But I can't get it to open. If you have any suggestions about that, I'd be grateful.

--Walt

Reply #4
Hmm. Do you see the help file in your NWC folder?
What happens if you double click on it (or is this what you meant when you say "click on the help file?",
in which case happens when you select help from the NWC help menu?