Skip to main content
Topic: Notation across Staves (Read 3807 times) previous topic - next topic

Notation across Staves

I am new to Noteworthy (brilliant piece of Software) and seek assistance. I am notating a piece of music that runs across the bass and treble clef - it is for harp or piano and in the piece of music I have, the 2 staves are treated as one ie left hand running to right hand. I cannot seem to duplicate this in Noteworthy. I don't care about the midi aspects only the printed part. I can do a 'fix' by inserting rests and hiding but then cannot beam the semiquavers or slur across the staves.

Does anyone have a solution or is it not possible?

Cheers

Janene

Re: Notation across Staves

Reply #1
Janene,

Interesting problem. I tried creating two staffs, bass and treble with top and bottom spacing such that the middle C's coincided. That way you could stay in (say) the bottom staff and place notes that would actually appear in the top staff. Unfortunately it appears the minimum spacing at top and bottom is 8, so the staves don't get close enough.

Now, if you *REALLY* don't care about MIDI playback, you might make do with something along these lines, just for the cross over parts, placing the notes in whichever stave you're running from, but at a position so they display in the other staff. You'll need to white out the ledger lines. For example, I have treble and bass with spacing of 8. A run of 4 quavers from A in the bass up to D in the treble. If I enter the notes as A, B, G, A in the bass clef, the G and A appear to be C and D in the treble clef. I can beam and/or slur across the whole group. The only visual problem is the extra ledger lines and the discontiguous spacing.

Noteworthy support - I'm sure there's a really good reason for not allowing the top and bottom spacing down to 6, but if that were possible the Cs would coincide and these runs would be feasible.

Reply #2