Skip to main content
Topic: Duplets (Read 5696 times) previous topic - next topic

Duplets

When writing in Simple time it is easy to include a triplet but I cannot find a way of writing a duplet when writing in compound time; ie, to divide a single beat (dotted crotchet) into two equal notes. I have to do this:
(quaver + semi-quaver tied)and ...
(semi-quaver + quaver tied)
Which of course is not the correct way to notate it.

Does someone know how this can be done?

Re: Duplets

Reply #1
I just use two dotted eighths (quavers), beamed if applicable.

Reply #2
Thanks Fred, for your suggestion but two dotted eighth's is not the correct way to notate a duplet in compound time. I am a music teacher and my printed examples have to be correct.
In simple time a triplet is beamed with a "3" to tell the performer to divide the beat into 3 equal parts.
In compund time a duplet has to be beamed with a "2" to tell the performer to divide the beat ( which is normally divided into 3) into 2 equal parts.

Reply #3
Sorry, there's no notationally correct way of doing this at this time. My suggestion works from a midi (playback) standpoint, but I agree that it's right from a visual (theory) standpoint.

Reply #4
Well, ok... I spoke a bit too soon. There are ways of post-processing NWC printouts using the Print Preview Copy function, to generate either a bitmap or a windows metafile of the current page. From there you could edit the file further in an external application. Several folks have worked with metafiles (see the recent "Printing" thread for some tips). I've successfully used the bitmap option followed by editing in Paint Shop Pro (and subsequent conversion to PostScript format for publishing) to do things like upside-down clefs and similar shenanigans.

Reply #5
At the time being, Fred's answer is the best answer (but you can also use Word with WMF format).

Hoping this will be possible in next version (don't know when it's planned though), so don't despair :-)