Skip to main content
Topic: Newbie: Can editor have multiple lines (Read 3109 times) previous topic - next topic

Newbie: Can editor have multiple lines

Ok, I've never used software for music before, and I've only had this installed for about an hour.  So, this may be a totally dumb question. (I have spent some time in the on-line manual.).

The editor starts at measure 1 and just keeps going to the right, until it is off the screen. Playback illuminates the notes in red, but when it reaches the end of the screen, it keeps going, I just can't see it.

I intended to use this software to play along, so I wanted to have it look more like the printed version (which looks great, by the way).
Is there a way to force a line break at the edge of the screen, or every 4 or 6 measures or whatever.
I'd like playback to show the animated line on screen at all times, so it should scroll up as you move through the piece.

I can't figure it out.

Re: Newbie: Can editor have multiple lines

Reply #1
Before you start playback, select a staff that continues to the end of the song.

For example, if the song is 32 measures long and the staff you select before starting playback is only 8 bars long, NWC will stop scrolling after 8 bars.

The NoteWorthy Composer Viewer works a bit differently. A staff cannot be selected, so it uses the topmost visible staff. If you are designing a song for the Viewer, make sure that the topmost visible staff continues to the end of the song.
Registered user since 1996

Reply #2

...So, this may be a totally dumb question. (I have spent some time in the on-line manual.).
There's no such thing as a dumb question from a new user.  Welcome aboard!  You may actually find your answers by using this forum's search feature (upper right corner of this screen), but sometimes figuring out the expression to search for isn't easy.  Anyway, lots of users are quite happy to help when you post a question here.