Skip to main content
Topic: Transposing only part of a staff (Read 3400 times) previous topic - next topic

Transposing only part of a staff

I am new to using NoteWorthy composer. I find it to be a great composition tool, very flexible and with really great printing quality. What I would like to do is transpose only part of a staff. For example, I have a song going along in the key of G, then there's a transition, and it continues in the key of A. Since the chorus in A is the same as the chorus in G, I'd like to just copy and paste it, then transpose the latter part of the staff up 2 semi-tones. However the transpose function seems to only affect the whole staff or none at all. Does anyone have a solution so that I don't have to completely re-enter that whole section manually in a new key?

Also, does any version of NWC have the ability to add
8va--------| symbols above or below a staff, so I don't have to add notes with 4 or 5 leger lines, which my students find hard to read? Thanks.

Marti

Re: Transposing only part of a staff

Reply #1
Firstly - you can enter the 8va above or below as an option when you enter a clef.

To transpose only part of a staff.
Copy the section to be transposed onto another empty staff or a staff in another window.
Transpose this staff.
Cut or Copy and Paste back into the original staff.

Make sure your staves have a key signature - even when in C major or A minor otherwise transposition wont occur as expected.

Reply #2
I very infrequently see 8va attached to a cleff. Sometimes I see 8vbasso on string bass parts but frequently its just assumed for these. Its much more frequent to see 8va------------------ over a section of a staff. As Marti says - it cuts down on the eye strain trying to count the ledger lines.

In NWC you can add 8va------- as text over a section of a staff, but you can't get NWC to do the transposition just for that section. Now there's an idea! I'm off to the wish list.