Skip to main content
Topic: multiple instruments (Read 3355 times) previous topic - next topic

multiple instruments

Hello...I am new to nwc so I don't know where to find out how to have several instruments play at once. For example, I would like to have the reed organ play the treble and the oboe play the bass. Can this be done with nwc? As it seems to me now, I can have one or the other but not both...any help would be appreciated!...thanks.........Paul

ps...I am new to this kind of music...all of my background is in piping (highland bagpipes) which only utilizes one staff and alot of gracing.

Re: multiple instruments

Reply #1
Well, your actual capabilities are dependent on your sound card/MIDI device. However, it is very unusual these days for a MIDI device to support less than 10 separate instruments simultaneously.

In NWC, you select the instrument for a staff from Staff Properties. Each staff can be assigned its own instrument. You can even change the instrument within the staff, using the Insert | Instrument Patch command. Try it out. I bet your system can handle it.

You should be sure that each staff is assigned a unique MIDI channel, unless you know why you want two staves to share a MIDI channel. This is generally handled automatically by NWC. MIDI channel 10 is generally reserved for drum kit sounds.

You might want to try looking over some of the samples that come with the program, as well as those of our users (check out the links here on our site).

Lastly, the user's guide that is included with the product covers some of this as well.

Reply #2
Thank you... I have been experimenting with the downloaded demo version...I just ordered the registered version. I am really enjoying this...it is a great way to learn music ... I just arranged a little Bach score and after adding phrasing and a few other dynamics it sounds absolutely beautiful. Thanks again.

Paul

Reply #3