Skip to main content
Topic: whats grace notes? (Read 4355 times) previous topic - next topic

whats grace notes?

could someone plz tell me what's a grace note? I am not good at musical terms in english. thanks

Re: whats grace notes?

Reply #1
There are three types of grace notes.
taken from the italian:

appoggiatura-notation:a reduced size eighth note slurred to a normal size main note-the grace note and the main note are both played in the time allotted to the main note and very strongly slurred--in modern usage the accaciatura takes one half the time
accaciatura-notation:a reduced size eighth note with a slash on the stem slurred to a normal size main note-the grace note and the main note are both played in the time allotted to the main note and very strongly slurred--in modern usage the accaciatura takes one fourth the time
double appoggiatura (appogiatura doppia)-notation:two reduced size eighth notes beamed and slurred to a normal size main note-the grace notes and the main note are all played in the time allotted to the main note and very strongly slurred--in modern usage the double appogiatura takes half the time with the two of equal duration

in most current music the grace note is slurred to the note following, history is not so consistent..

Reply #2
But there are other instances of grace notes.
Three grace notes are used by Mozart in his Rondo "Alla Turca" from Sonata XI. Again, they borrow time from the note being "graced".
Liszt, Moussorgsky and Gershwin and many others make huge use of grace notes as leading arpeggios to the "graced" note. These normally end up with the graced note being ON the beat (ie the grace notes borrow from the preceding note).
This is impossible to implement in NWC at the moment without resorting to using an "implementation" stave. ie you have one (mute) staff that looks right, and one messy (hidden) staff that plays right.