Skip to main content
Topic: Improving placement of slurs (and ties?) (Read 3876 times) previous topic - next topic

Improving placement of slurs (and ties?)

The automatic placement of slurs is rather ugly when you use layering...
Short term solution :
Is it possible to patch rapidely (at least for slurs I have no experience of ties) the rules stated in "placement of slurs and ties" thread 911 "see!msg911#12" ?
I quote the rules with the modification in upper cases :
> The direction of slurs are now determined by the first
> note of the slur: if the stem of the first note is
> upward, then the slur will be underneath the notes.
> If the stem of the first note is downward, then the slur
> is extended above the notes. If the first note is a split
> direction chord OR A PART OF A LAYERED STAFF, then these rules are reversed.
This way the slur on layered staves will be on the side of the stem without any work around.
Long range solution :
A shorter slur that may fit between 2 consecutive notes or their stems (as in the commercial partitions I have seen) that makes easier their vertical placement (shift up or down) with freedom also for the direction of the curvature (up or downward) or the tilts.

Re: Improving placement of slurs (and ties?)

Reply #2
I am not clear on your question. Version 1.70 now allows you to place all slurs above (upward) or below (downward) the notes in a staff. Simply select all of the notes in the staff, goto Properties, and change accordingly.

Reply #3
I think what Jean is suggesting is the default placing of slurs should be at the stem end when a staff is layered with another. This does pose some immediate practical difficulties:

Some scores only require layering for part of the piece.

The only way Noteworthy at present would know that a staff was part of a layer would be if layering was enabled (with me so far?)

BUT