Skip to main content
Topic: Instrument Choices (Read 5641 times) previous topic - next topic

Instrument Choices

I love NWC but I'm pretty new to electronic composition. I
composed a piece of music that I thought was beeeeeutiful!!!
(On my sound card, that is). I exported it to MIDI and e-mailed
it to a friend. I have an AWE32, he has a SB16. At a later
time, while at his house, I heard his playback - It was monstrous.
Worse than that, other friends reported the same thing!
Could someone please enlighten me? Am I missing something?
Are some instruments consistent across different sound cards? Does
Noteworthy Player do something to the GM set that MIDI players
don't? How do you stop strings from turning into piano accordians?

Re: Instrument Choices

Reply #1
Trouble is - you composed on a Porsche and your friends played back on a Volkswagen.
You have wavetable synthesis and they dont.
Buy'em an AWE64 for Xmas.
They'll love your composition then!

Reply #3
Thanks Barry:) But what about the net? I'm setting up a music site. Do I only compose using piano or can I convert midi to another waveband-friendly format? MPEG3 looks promising but finding inexpensive 'drag & drop' software is proving difficult. Now wouldn't "export NWC to MPEG3" be a nice addition.

Reply #4
When creating a composition for electronic distribution, there is no way to guarantee the performance level of the equipment in which your piece will be played. You should probably construct your song such that it uses General MIDI patch assignments, and then test it in this configuration. When distributing it, state that General MIDI support is required to get satisfactory playback results. In the end, your piece will almost always sound better on premium equipment, and authors of MIDI files will always be faced with trade-off decisions based on the target audience of their song, and the minum level of MIDI equipment required to hear a MIDI work as the author intended it to be experienced. Good luck.