Skip to main content
Topic: Hoping to start a new instrument - Question (Read 8140 times) previous topic - next topic

Hoping to start a new instrument - Question

I'm a rising freshman about to join marching band. Recently I picked up the french horn, but it hasn't been going so well. I'm formerly a flautist, and the transition from two full hands of keys to just three keys to produce the same amount of notes (perhaps even more) is not going as well as I had hoped. On top of that, a french horn is much heavier to march with than a flute is!

Breaking the habit of flute-embouchure has been a challenge, and even harder has been training my ear to a Bb instrument. I went into the french horn a little too hastily, and now I wonder if I made the right choice. I still have enough time before band camp starts-- so can anyone tell me, which instruments are C instruments?

Re: Hoping to start a new instrument - Question

Reply #1
(The reason why I asked here is because I ran a search on my question and found an old post here from someone asking about why concert instruments are tuned to different keys...)

Reply #2
In a standard Marching band here are the instruments and keys
C instruments
-Piccolo, Flute
-Oboe
-Mallet Percussion

B flat
Trumpets
Tenor Sax
Clarinets

E flat
Alto Sax
Baritone Sax

Bass Clef, but still in C
-Trombones
-Euphonium(Baritone)
-Tuba
-Timpani

Thats basically it.  If you want a beginner friendly instrument try the Alto Sax.  Its quite easy to pick up, getting to be an expert at it is a different story.  Hope this helps.

Reply #3
Thanks! Are there any C instruments outside of the standard marching band-range? (Concert band is mandatory for all band students, and students are given the option to have different instruments for each band section-- jazz, marching, concert, etc.)

Reply #4