Skip to main content
Topic: Want good classical guitar sound... (Read 10587 times) previous topic - next topic

Want good classical guitar sound...

Hello,

I'm a newbie when it comes to computer music software.  I recently purchased noteworthy composer and am using it to play the teacher parts of my classical guitar metod book.  However, the classical guitar sound that my computer makes is not very good.  I have been looking into software synthesizers (like edirol's SuperQuartet HQ).  Is this the way to go?

Any advice would be most appreciated.  Thanks!

-Ben

Re: Want good classical guitar sound...

Reply #1
If you have a fairly new, fast computer, a software synth is a good option.  Since Yamaha has discontinued its S-YXG 50 (sniff!) Softsynth, Edirol is the most reasonably priced alternative.  Or you could get around computer speed issues if your computer has a USB port and get a Yamaha PSR-293 keyboard which has a USB port so doesn't need an additional $50 MIDI interface and has a great-sounding XG sound set.

Reply #3
Barry, how in the world do you get to a page that YamahaUK says is not available because it is being updated or is forbidden to access on my server?  :)  You da man!  Yamaha discontinued the S-YXG 50 March 2004 and I got it only a few days before they removed access from the web site.  I think you have a copy (cached?) of the trial version.  It was fully functional for 30 days and then a key disk (zip file) needed to be purchased to keep it functioning.  You can no longer even find the page from which to purchase the key disk on any Yamaha site.  My guess is that CPU speeds advanced enough to make the great sound of the S-YXG50 cut too much into sales of Yamaha's own hardware motherboards, $500+ versus $45 for the softsynth.  Yamaha support never answered my e-mail asking why, oh why, did they discontinue it. Gee, I wonder why?  :)  $$$$$$$$

Reply #4