Skip to main content
Topic: Using templates (Read 3131 times) previous topic - next topic

Using templates

I am trying to do my own rhythm template and save it to the templates file so it will be in the list to choose from.  I cannot get it to show in the list and I have followed the instructions in the user guide about dragging and dropping it into the "song template" dialog box but that doesn't work.  Now, I open it this morning and what I had saved is no longer there when I open the file. 
I am not very good at this kind of stuff and I'm trying to learn how to use a midi keyboard with this program but it seems so complicated.   Any help on this would be great!

Re: Using templates

Reply #1
Let's do this step by step. Can you please

• open Noteworthy
  • click on "Tools" (in the toolbar) and then click on the tab "Folders"
  • and tell us what it says there next to "Templates:"

Then we can find out whether your file ended up there or not ...

H.M.

Reply #2
The default location for song templates is in a folder called "Template" under the NWC program folder.  If you are using Vista or later you need to gain read/write file system access to this folder.  Easiest way is to "take ownership" of the template folder.

Otherwise, you COULD change the template location in |Tools|Options|Folders (tab) and point it to a folder in your personal folders location, or perhaps the "All Users" structure.

Either way, once you have a location in use that you have Read/Write access to you can save templates.

If you have XP or earlier these problems don't really exist as long as your user account is a member of the "Administrators" group.

To use a MIDI keyboard, you need to tell NWC it exists.  From |Tools|Options|Record (tab) select the device from the Input Device list box.  If it isn't there then Windows doesn't recognise the device - this needs to be fixed before NWC can use it.