Skip to main content
Topic: Computer playback (Read 5384 times) previous topic - next topic

Computer playback

Every once in awhile, when I hit "play" the two staffs sound like they are in different keys.  I don't know what makes this happen or how to fix it.  Can't find anything in the User Guide either.  I'm still learning.  Anyone know how to fix this?

Re: Computer playback

Reply #1
Does it happen with every file you play or it's happening only with some scores? Try playing the sample files included with NWC, if they play in the right way then the problem is not with the software configurations and you will need to upload some of the "wrong-playing" files in order to check where is the problem.
[...] y el mayor bien es pequeño: que toda la vida es sueño, y los sueños, sueños son.

Reply #2
My guess is that (at least) one of the voices is a transposing instrument and the
transposition has not been applied correctly.
(This would always affect playback of the same piece.)

Please submit a sample *.nwc file which has the problem.

There are many who could help you to sort it out.

Reply #3
My guess is that (at least) one of the voices is a transposing instrument and the
transposition has not been applied correctly.
My thought as well.
A pitch bend might also cause this. It is also possible that the synth is not resetting after its last use.
Registered user since 1996

Reply #4
In addition to what Haymo and Rick have pointed out, there's a possibility that an unrecognized clef change has screwed up the sound. This can happen when notes from one staff are copied to another without being transposed to the second staff's clef. It can also happen when you insert a new clef and then forget and write notes as if you're still in the old one. (Reminder: the current clef is always indicated down in the right-hand corner of the screen.)

As everyone else here has said, if we're going to do more than speculate, we're going to need a sample.

Reply #5