Skip to main content
Topic: Barline changes - using text, specific fonts and user tools (Read 5008 times) previous topic - next topic

Barline changes - using text, specific fonts and user tools

About 6 years ago I started playing with a way to make a handwritten style barline to overlay the standard NWC barlines to go with my SwingDings suite and try to complete the package.

There were a few challenges, mainly the fact I couldn't hide the standard barlines and still make everything work properly.

I have a feeling I communicated about this with either the forum or the Newsgroup once before - I don't remember which nor how much (if at all).  A quick search of this forum didn't reveal anything so I figure it must have been the newsgroup.

Still I made it work OK and have used it a few times, but discovered I didn't really care all that much about implementing the styling, so it languished for the last 6 years.

However, I recently "got an urge".  What sparked it was how often, when using printed scores, I would use a pencil to extend the lines on repeats to make them more visible, kinda making them into stylized brackets.  This got me to thinking about my SwingBars font...

So I modified that font, and created a new one called StraightBars, with associated scripts.

SwingBars has 10 alternative single barlines and 3 sets of decorated barlines - dashed barlines are not catered for.
StraightBars is set up the same, but the script ONLY uses repeat barlines.

The tools place the text barlines centred at next note/barline, sometimes, like at the end of staves where there is a decorated barline, it may be necessary to manually modify the text to be left justified at next note/barline

When you create your file, make a user font to be the Barline font you want to use and set its size to match the staff metrics.  The default is User5 - you can easily modify the script to change this if you want.

The basic user tool command is: