Skip to main content
Topic: newbie: staves for short pieces on one page (Read 2529 times) previous topic - next topic

newbie: staves for short pieces on one page

Hi:
I am a newbie with NoteWorthy. Searched the manual, common questions, etc and couldn't find an easy answer to this:
How do I get staves that are not connected for short pieces of music notation, e.g. scales, arpeggios. When I add a staff they are always connected to the previous one in one system. I want them independent.
Hope it's not too dumb a question... and someone can help. Thanks!
M

Re: newbie: staves for short pieces on one page

Reply #1
You add a staff when you want two or more parts to sound at the same time, like the left and right hands (bass & treble) of a piano part.  Perhaps you don't need to add a staff, just continue the first (perhaps) only staff, and use some type of special bar line to separate your exercises and force it to do a system break.

Is the attached something like what you need?  Look at the final double bar at the end of each line.

Edited:  BTW, welcome to the NWC Forum.  For future reference, posts of the "How do I ...?" variety are usually posted in the "General Discussion" section and if this thread disappears, it probably has been moved there.
Since 1998

Reply #2
Thank you!! That looks a lot like what I need. And thanks for the welcome and advice... I'll go to How To... the next time.
*s* How did you get that "special bar line" into the staff? Just point me to the right direction (manual, another thread, anything...) and I hope I can work it out.
In any case: Thank you, virtuoso Warren! It's really nice of you to respond!
M

Reply #3
How did you get that "special bar line" into the staff?