Skip to main content
Topic: Rest plus note as chord, without layering (Read 3390 times) previous topic - next topic

Rest plus note as chord, without layering

Folks --

I'm new to NWC, and working my way through the User Manual. In entering a TTBB song in NWC, I wanted at one place to have the top T part with a quarter rest, and the bottom part to have two tied eighth notes. In fumbling around with the chord command I was able at one point to get this to work, but without the correct note values, do I erased it. In numerous subsequent attempts I have not been able to replicate this. I know that I can use staff layering to do this, but it would appear from my one-time accidental experience that I should also be able to do it in the setting I have described. Can someone help me, if only to tell me that I was hallucinating in my abortive attempt?

Thanks in advance.
--
George Poynor

Re: Rest plus note as chord, without layering

Reply #1
You can combine a note with an existing smaller rest using Insert, Chord Member. Since your rest is larger than the note that you want to combine with it, layering is currently the only option.

Reply #2
The note and rest may be of the same duration. The Chord Member Command docs are a bit out of date about this.

This has always been possible for NWC 2.0+  For older versions, see <this> tip.
Registered user since 1996

Reply #3
After working with that issue many time in choral works ...   Layering is much easier. 

It's so much more natural, because you can simply score as you see and hear the notes.  You don't need to worry about which notes need to be scored after first assigning ties.  Slurs are more easy to control.  What was more complicated in a single staff, has become much easier when NWC incorporated layering.