Skip to main content
Topic: Webpage to create a guitar chord (Read 21115 times) previous topic - next topic

Webpage to create a guitar chord

I am working on a webpage to create a guitar chord from a fingering diagram here and hope to add a pulldown to allow the user to select just the name of the chord and the fingering diagram will be filled in.  Thus far the chord diagrams I found on the web aren't that easy to read--I'm open to suggestions as to links to chords or any thing on the webpage.

This is my first attempt to create a webpage related to NWC since doing the Twelve Tone Row.

TIA

P.S. Moved link from old website.
PPS. Moved again.
Since 1998

Re: Webpage to create a guitar chord

Reply #1
Warren,

Not sure exactly what you are looking for - but here is one that I have in my favourites (I had it there for the keyboard chords, not the guitar chords)

http://chordfind.com/

Rich.

Reply #2
There is a very complete chart here with clickable subcharts giving alternate fingerings. The size is a little small, but you can adjust the viewing scale on your browser (FF and IE, anyway: not sure about others).

Keep me posted on this, Warren, and send me a PM if you have any questions about specific fingerings. Looks like an interesting project.

Bill

Reply #3
Thanks for the links, they will be useful.

I've entered the 20 "open" chords I found, but I am not sure how to order/include the rarer chords: All A chords together, then Bb, B, C, etc. or put the rarer chords all at the back?  Use a different way to reference the chords (2 layers of drilldown for example).
Since 1998

Reply #4
I've added an option to insert a hidden arpeggio on the page.  Since adding the counter I've noted someone whose internet service comes thru Sacramento CA has used it a lot.

I needed some help with the code, this is the discussion on the Javascript forum. For JMRKER's version, change the link to guitar1.htm.  Edited change:  A modification of his suggestion is my new page.
Since 1998