Skip to main content
Topic: MIDI Delay - Windows XP (Read 13487 times) previous topic - next topic

MIDI Delay - Windows XP

I have been noticing a strange behavior of Noteworthy for several months now related to MIDI.  At times, there is a delay between pushing [Enter] to place a note and when the note sounds.  The delay is maybe about a half a second.  Just enough to be annoying.  I can consistently fix the problem by just going to Tools/Options/MIDI and pressing [Ok].  Instantly, everything starts working with no delay.  I am using the Microsoft MIDI Mapper as the playback device.

Re: MIDI Delay - Windows XP

Reply #1
I don't know if this sheds any more light on the issue...  I have been working on the same piece for a while today.  The MIDI delay happened, and I reset it.  I then stepped away to eat a bite of lunch.  When I came back, I manipulated the score a bit again, and the MIDI was again delaying.  Nothing else happened with the computer.  Again, I fixed the issue by the same method as above.  Noteworthy was running all the time with the same score open.

Reply #2
It could be your settings in Tools/Options/Midi - I use B: SBLive! Midi Synth and SBLive! MIDI UART.  Whatever those are.

If it's not that, I suspect it's your sound card driver.  For me, the sound on the note entry is instantaneous, and if I rapidly tap in a bunch of 8th notes, the sound will come before the string of notes shows on the screen.

<< Edit:  Check to see if your Start Countdown setting in Tools/Options/Midi  is greater than 0.  When I was looking at it earlier today while preparing the above comment, I reset it from 0 to 12.  Now opening a file to work on, the playback wasn't working.  Turns out it was the new Start Countdown number.  When I reset it to zero, everything was fine again. Maybe it does the same thing to note entry.>>

Reply #3
When I came back, I manipulated the score a bit again, and the MIDI was again delaying.