Skip to main content
Topic: noob question (Read 3510 times) previous topic - next topic

noob question

I am just learning the piano and Dled the trial version of NWC.  I am trying to compose a song and I ran into a problem.  I am new to music, so I am not even sure I now how to ask this properly, please bear with me :)

I am trying to type out the notes for 1 measure (4/4 time) that has a whole note that plays arcross the entire measure and 7 half notes that follow immediately after the whole note is played.

I tried to do this with a cord, but it wouldn't let me since the notes were not of the same timing.  Any attempt to string these notes together pushes the time out past 4 beats.  I do not want to use both treble and bass to accomplish this, I am trying to fit this just onto the bass cleft.  Do I need to do some sort of layered staff and do some hiding trick?

I am mostly interested in how this prints out and not as much concerned with the sound.  I am printing a piece off so I can play it.

Thanks,
Beef

Re: noob question

Reply #1
I think my question might be confusing :)

I have linked the NWC file below that shows my issue.  I am trying to put the theme song for the office onto paper.  I created the midi file in another program and inported it into NWC.  When I did this, many of the notes got pushed from the bass clef to the treble clef.  It played fine, but it doesn't print well.

To get everything to look better, I had to create a 3rd staff to place the whole notes.  There are a few measures of this song where a whole note spans the entire measure and you also play 8th notes in the same measure (I mistakingly called them halfs below oops). 

My question is how can I get this to display properly on 1 staff without messing up the sound as well.

I have linked the file so you can see what I am asking since I am not very good at explaining things.

http://www.filefactory.com/file/aff21e1/n/The_Office_nwc (I apologize in advance for the filefactory adds)