Skip to main content
Topic: Staff Position of Expression Placement in Notation Properties (Read 8436 times) previous topic - next topic

Staff Position of Expression Placement in Notation Properties

I am studying Mr Pardy's file for creating lead sheets in NWC. (leadsheetsinnwc2.pdf)

I cannot lock the staff position when setting it in the Expression Placement window of Notation Properties. If I set the staff position at 12 and then push enter to write the expression to the staff, then the staff position for the next expression reverts to 1.

Operating on Win 2000 (which I see I have to upgrade in order to use the global mod tools?)

Re: Staff Position of Expression Placement in Notation Properties

Reply #1
I think you need to check that Smart Properties Insert is selected. Go to Tools|Options|Editor and make sure that there is an X in that box.

Operating on Win 2000 (which I see I have to upgrade in order to use the global mod tools?)
I'm sure that the Global Mod tools work on Win2000 - You need to Upgrade from version 1.xx NWC to Version 2.xx in order to use any user tool, maybe that is the upgrade you read about.
Rich.

Reply #2
With win2000 you must be careful for the latest version of PHP (5.3 I think), based on Visual C++ 2008 redistributable package (x86), is not guaranteed to work on win2000.

NWC2 User Tool Starter Kit Version 2.1 should be ok.

Reply #3
G'day Dr. Mark,
Firstly, Richard is incorrect, you don't need the smart insert setting.

However, I think you may have missed a critical point in the description.  In order for the vertical position to remain correct, you do NOT set it in the dialogue, rather, you position the cursor to the correct vertical position, the when moving the cursor you merely move it horizontally, WITHOUT changing the vertical height.