Skip to main content
Topic: Transpose Treble to Bass Clef? (Read 9535 times) previous topic - next topic

Transpose Treble to Bass Clef?

I just downloaded NoteWorthy Composer to play sound files that I have saved on my computer.  I know abut the transposing tool but my question is how many semitones do I need to go done in order to
1) transpose to a tenor trombone
2) tuba

I don't know what type of instrument I have, they were just the basics that I was told to use when I started playing back in middle school.  I assume they are the most common ones.  I know for sure that my tuba is not a C tuba.  (Is it a Bb tuba and trombone that is the most common?)  In addition, I don't know what instrument these files came from (but there midi so yeah).  All the files have been put in treble clef when I use NoteWorthy and that's my main problem.  Maybe I should learn to read treble clef ... That's about it, LOL.  Sorry if it seems pathetic, I'm new at this.

Thanks for any help,
Brian

Re: Transpose Treble to Bass Clef?

Reply #1
It's not too clear what it is you're asking, Brian.  If you just want to rewrite treble clef notes as bass clef, it's not hard.  Change the clef, then highlight all the notes in the bar and press {control}{shift}{up-arrow} 12 times.

If you want to transpose a part written for baritone t.c. (baritone treble clef), you have change the key.  A baritone t.c. part sounds a whole tone lower than what is written.  When the baritone is written in bass clef, though, I think the notes are in concert pitch (not transposed).

So to write a baritone t.c. part for baritone b.c., first transpose it up 2 semitones (use the tools/transpose menu, which will change both the notes and the key signature), then change the clef, then highlight all the notes in the bar and press {control}{shift}{up-arrow} 12 times.

Reply #2
Brian,