Skip to main content
Topic: Twelve Tone Row (Read 15860 times) previous topic - next topic

Twelve Tone Row

This is the first javascript I have attempted for NWC here and will create a twelve tone row starting at middle C.  I may add options for other starting locations, clefs, and note durations later depending on feedback.

I am still a novice at javascript, but some other examples can be found by chopping ttr.htm off the above link (my home page).

Edited change:  Moved my website.

Another edited change:  Again
Since 1998

Re: Twelve Tone Row

Reply #1
Hi Warren -

Interesting script, and possibly useful. The NWCtext it generates is missing its header and footer; you might consider adding these, although it's easy enough to add them by hand. Also, the row it generated for me started on B natural rather than middle C. It's probably more accurate to state that it creates a twelve-tone row in the octave from middle C upward.

Just a couple of small suggestions....

Cheers,

Bill

Reply #2
It's probably more accurate to state that it creates a twelve-tone row in the octave from middle C upward.
Or that it deals a hand from a 12 card deck consisting of the chromatic scale using sharps...

BTW, the checkbox adds the headers and footers. Perhaps it should be checked by default.
Registered user since 1996

Reply #3
I don't have it ready to upload yet, but I have added options for any key and choose your clef.  Including headers and footers is now a default and I dropped the checkbox for that.

Rick, I remembered an algorhythm(sp?) for dealing a card deck which is where I got that means for randomly finding twelve notes.  I see you looked at the source <g>.  Thanks for your interest!

P.S. Also am adding a note duration dropbox.
Since 1998

Reply #4
P.S. Also am adding a note duration dropbox.
Why bother? It's easier to simply select it in NWC2 and change the duration.
Just because you can doesn't mean that you should.
Registered user since 1996

Reply #5