Skip to main content
Topic: Print the score horizontally (Read 2175 times) previous topic - next topic

Print the score horizontally

Good day, I always follow you with pleasure. I'm not a musician, just an amateur and moreover half deaf.
This is my question: is it possible to always print the score horizontally?
Happy New Year everyone and thank you.
Lorenzo

Re: Print the score horizontally

Reply #1
The only way I can think of is this:
When NWC launches, it will use the current default printer and it's associated settings.  If you set that printer in the system settings to be Landscape, then that's what you'll get, BUT this will also affect every other program you use.  Probably not a desirable outcome...

AFAIK NWC does not save page orientation information in the song file.

So, a possible way around this is to:
a) create a new printer device in windows that is a copy or your usual printer except for its name, and page orientation.
b) install this utility (N.B. I have not tested this and I have not checked its pedigree so use at your own risk)
https://lifehacker.com/automatic-printer-switcher-changes-default-printer-for-5549275
and assign the new printer device to NWC

The utility purports to change the active printer based on which application is printing.  Hopefully it will work, and NWC will now always print in Landscape unless you change the default settings for this new printer object.

If you decide to try it please let the forum know if it worked.
I plays 'Bones, crumpets, coronets, floosgals, youfonymums 'n tubies.

Reply #2