Skip to main content
Topic: What software should I buy? (Read 4194 times) previous topic - next topic

What software should I buy?

You don't get more of a novice than me. I would really appreciate some help on which software to buy/download, Cake Walk/Noteworthy/ etc. I have none at the moment. I am not a keyboard player but a classical guitar player who wants more music to play. I would also like to try my hand at composing! I would pay maybe $50 - $100 for software but nothing for hardware as I use a laptop from my work.

Re: What software should I buy?

Reply #1
Hi Nigel, I have been using Noteworthy for over 2 years now and considering the price, ease of entering notes, free upgrades and all the good advice you get on this forum I would highly recommend you to go that route! Good luck - Barry

Reply #2
Nigel, I most enthusiastically recommend NoteWorthy! Give it a try. Why not? it's free (to start)! But -- If you would be advised -- download a copy of Keyboard Express by Insight Software, too. You'll find many uses for keyboard macros in NoteWorthy as you get into typing in music. To you and all other readers of this forum, I will be glad to send along a copy of the macros I have come up with; just e-mail a request.

Reply #3
Nigel, I'd personnally recommend NWc for same reasons, adding quick support and friendly users community.
Anyway, as a guitartist, you may be interested in http://guitar-pro.com/ which is more designed for guitar writing. But I did not use it (just 5 minutes to test it, seemed to be almost as good as NWC), so you'll have to try it yourself (btw, you are the one person that has to decide for you :-)
You may also refer to https://forum.noteworthycomposer.com/?topic=494 for guitar discussion.

Robert, why wouldn't you submit your macros to the NWC scriptorium? (though I think that KeyBoard Express ain't as cheap as NWC, am I wrong?)

HTH, Marsu

Reply #4