Skip to main content
Topic: Playing back tenuto (Read 4630 times) previous topic - next topic

Playing back tenuto

Of all Performances styles used by NWC, only legato, tenuto and staccato affect the play back of the song they are in.

It seems that legato and tenuto play notes longer (up to the full duration of the note) and staccato shorter (ideally, a 50% of the note duration, but I’ve noticed that most of the time it’s closer to a 25%). A legato playback can also be achieved in NWC on notes affected by a slur or a tenuto mark (a dash above a note) and a staccato playback on notes with a staccato mark (a point above or below the note).

But I’m puzzled about NWC rendering of the tenuto mark and style, especially by its lack of practical difference with legato.

I’m not a trained musician (well, I should better state that I’m not a musician at all) and I’m not certain about what I’m saying but I think that a note played tenuto should be played without decay but not longer.

Normally players don’t maintain the same strength during the full duration of a note. In attack time the note is played stronger and then the sound gets weakened towars the end. A tenuto marking instructs the player to maintain the same force during the full duration of the note, but without being prolonged and glued to the next note. That is, a clear separation between notes is very important in a tenuto performance.

In my music book, a German one in fact, the dash over the note is not called tenuto but détaché (a French word which means separated) and the accompanying description insists more on the separation between notes than on the prolongation of the sound. To me, then, this means that tenuto (or détaché, if they are the same thing) is a kind of long staccato, where the note is played a bit shorter than the normal style, to stress the separation with the next one.

Therefore, my ideal playback duration series for a note in different performance styles would be: