NoteWorthy Composer Forum

Forums => General Discussion => Topic started by: Lawrie Pardy on 2013-05-13 09:39 pm

Title: Decidedly off topic: The Great Gatsby
Post by: Lawrie Pardy on 2013-05-13 09:39 pm
Sooo, has anyone in the States seen the latest remake of "The Great Gatsby", directed by Baz Luhrmann?  It opened in the US on the 10th.  Being in Oz I won't get to see it until the 30th as that's when it opens here.

What I'd like to know is if anyone noticed a white guy with a pretty big, mostly greyish beard dressed in tails with a boater on his head and weilding an old King 'bone?

I have no idea whether I ended up on the cutting room floor or not, but if you did see him, it was me :)

The gig came about when a buddy of mine forwarded a request from his agent for musicians to audition as extras for "an upcoming, big budget movie" - I figured "why not, I've never done anything like this before", went to the casting call and ended up getting the gig.  It was certainly a different experience...  The semi-controlled chaos of a big set like that was quite enlightening.

It was also a bit like history repeating itself: In 1944 the film "The Rats Of Tobruk" was made - it featured scenes filmed on Bondi Beach in Sydney, Australia and my father was an extra in it (he was serving at the time and it seems the army "volunteered" a bunch of troops to help), so maybe we both made it into film :)  He never managed to see himself in the movie, he was just another head with a "tin hat" on it, I'm hoping I'm a bit more visible - guess I'll find out on the 30th ;-)
Title: Re: Decidedly off topic: The Great Gatsby
Post by: Haymo on 2013-05-14 09:12 am
Congratulations Lawrie,
whether you be visible or not!
Thanks too, for the bit of history - very special to your family.

I have no idea when we in South Africa will have our chance.

Haymo.
Post by: Warren Porter on 2013-05-25 01:20 am