NoteWorthy Composer Forum

Forums => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jmoly on 2021-05-04 11:26 am

Title: Midi messages
Post by: Jmoly on 2021-05-04 11:26 am
Hi
I'm a newbie to the forum and I have to state 'up front' I am not a composer. In fact, up to two years ago I couldn't read a note of music. When I retired I decided to learn to play piano. I'd bought NWC to help with my daughter's Music secondary education about ten years ago and I thought that it would be useful as an aid for my own lessons. I upgraded to the latest version and it did help; I could now listen to practice pieces to see how they should sound. However, my hands aren't as limber as they once were and I have difficulty getting the right timing for the notes. Since I spent many years developing electronics I thought that, if I could intercept the midi stream, I could build an interface ( something like a data glove) out of a microcontroller and mobile phone buzzers.  My idea was to decode the midi stream and use the glove(s) to signal to my hands when and for how long I needed to press the notes. This would help give me tactile feedback to tie in with the notes that I was playing. I know there are already 'apps' that can give visual feedback but reading the pitch of the notes and, at the same time, watching a red dot bounce along a display is beyond my beginner skills. I am comfortable with the task of creating the hardware however when I come to write the software for the microcontroller I need to know how the data is transmitted from the midi interface on Noteworthy. I have looked online and there is lots of general stuff about data packets, note on signals etc. but I can't find any Noteworthy specific info. Could someone please point me to a file/description/example of what Noteworthy actually does when it sends data to midi? How does it allocate staves, instruments etc. and channel the notes into the Midi stream?
Title: Re: Midi messages
Post by: Lawrie Pardy on 2021-05-04 12:38 pm