Skip to main content
Topic: Notes & Measures (Read 4076 times) previous topic - next topic

Notes & Measures

I've been doing music via lots of software packages for many years beginning with Deluxe Music Construction on my Amiga (am I aging myself here?).  My wife bought me NoteWorthy for Christmas, so bear with me through the learning stages.

Does a staff always have to begin at measure 1?  For instance, with SATB music, it's common to have several measures of intro before beginning the SATB score.  Of course I can start the SATB with the intro and enter rests, but I'm wondering if I can add/remove a staff at any given point as needed?

Second question: Is there a quick way to place notes?  I find selecting a spot, then hitting enter one more key stroke than I want to do.  I want to use my left hand on the hot keys to select my note, then use my right hand to point and click to place it.

Third question: Is there a quick way to edit an already-placed note?  Say if I want to change the note's dynamics, I'd like to click the note and make the change.  Or say if I goofed and want to move a note from a C to a B, I'd like to be able to simply click and drag it rather than delete and re-add it.

Re: Notes & Measures

Reply #1
Hi Don,

Does a staff always have to begin at measure 1?

Pretty much, you can start at 0 but this is not what you're after.

<snip> but I'm wondering if I can add/remove a staff at any given point as needed?

Unfortunately, no.

Many users actually output to DTP or WP software via metafile (copy and paste from print preview) and further manipulate there but I don't have that need so I don't use that method.

Is there a quick way to place notes?

Yes.  I normally use my left hand to select note duration (number keys on the typewriter pad) and my right hand on the cursor arrows, enter key and the other keyboard shortcuts in that region.  E.G. . = dot, / = tie, ; = slur - there are others.