Skip to main content
Topic: Midi beginner questions (Read 4571 times) previous topic - next topic

Midi beginner questions

Recently upgraded computer, etc. I now have Windows 95 and a 16-bit Sound Blaster. Also have upgraded powerful (new) speakers that work great through Windows. Reinstalled Noteworthy 1.52. However, something is not right about using Noteworthy - I suspect I've missed something in the MIDI setup since I'm a rank beginner at MIDI. My keyboard is a Yamaha PSR 320. I've learned how to enter notes in step-time and real time. BUT - the sound quality is not good. There's much less volume than the Windows music and there's static on playback. I have fiddled around with various settings, but no improvement. Any ideas on what's going on? Is it the cable? I'm using just a standard MIDI cable, no extenders. All help is appreciated. The Forum is terrific!

Re: Midi beginner questions

Reply #1
You don't say whether the poor sound quality is on replay through your keyboard or computer, but I suspect the latter. As I understand it, the only information that is stored when you enter notes from a keyboard is the channel (effectively the instrument), pitch and duration (for real time entry). You have to set up key signatures, dynamics etc. yourself. Try altering the staff volume setting (from the main Menu follow : Staff - Staff Properties - MIDI), and put some dynamic notation on your score - ff would be a good place to start! The static is almost certainly due to the low volume of the playback signal - what you are hearing is general background noise, rather like a radio tuned away from a station.

Good Luck, Peter

Reply #2
I do not think that the static is caused by low volume. I
play noteworthy files and CD's at the same speaker volume,
and the loudness level is similar. But the CD is crystal-clear
and Noteworthy sounds like a Tesla coil. It hasn't hampered
me, because I am listening only to proofread the notation.