Skip to main content
Topic: What happened to CyberHymnal? (Read 16669 times) previous topic - next topic

What happened to CyberHymnal?

What has happened to the CyberHymnal? I just tried to go there, and it is gone!! I can't believe it! I am a pastor, and I us(ed) CyberHymnal regularly in preparing worship services. Has it moved, been renamed, etc.? I just can't believe that wonderful database has evaporated!!

Re: What happened to CyberHymnal?

Reply #1
G'day wadp1,
I was going to say:
I wouldn't worry too hard - the CyberHymnal seems to disappear 'bout once a year and reappears soon after.  IIRC it is hosted on a university owned machine somewhere and they may be down for maintenance or something.

BUT, having just attempted a visit I notice the url is now on what appears to be a cyber squatters site so I wonder if the domain registration has expired?

A whois lookup suggests all is OK, so I'm not really sure what's happening...
I plays 'Bones, crumpets, coronets, floosgals, youfonymums 'n tubies.

Reply #2
The cyberhymnal.org DNS server DNS1.NAME-SERVICES.COM currently maps the domain to an IP address of 69.64.155.125, which redirects to http://searchalligator.com/ in a browser.

According to pir.org, the domain is in a AUTORENEWPERIOD status:

The 45-day period after a domain registration period expires and is extended (renewed) automatically by the registry.  If the domain is deleted by the registrar during this period, the registry provides a credit to the registrar for the cost of the renewal.

Reply #3
We are sad to report that our domain name has been hacked. We are trying to reach our Web hosting company (Word.net) to fix the problem, but so far they have been unresponsive, despite numerous phone calls, pages, and e-mails. The WHOIS registration shows the domain name was changed late yesterday. Please pray for us.